SterlingMedicalCenter.org is an independent editorial publication, not a medical provider. This article is general education about reading supplement labels. It is not medical advice, and it does not recommend, rank, or sell any product. It contains no affiliate links.
The Short Answer
On many botanical supplements, you cannot find the amount of each ingredient on the label. When a product groups ingredients under a “Proprietary Blend” (or a similar name), FDA's labeling guide describes a label that shows the blend's total weight and lists the ingredients in the blend in descending order by weight. The guide does not describe a requirement to show each blended ingredient's own weight. The exception is any ingredient that has an established Daily Value, which the guide says must be listed separately with its individual weight.
That means the label can answer some questions (what is in the blend, which ingredient is present in the largest amount, how heavy the blend is in total) and cannot answer others (how much of one particular herb you would take per serving). This guide shows you how to spot a blend, record what the label does and does not say, and ask the manufacturer for the missing details. A worksheet you can copy is included below.
What a Supplement Facts Panel Is Supposed to Show
FDA's Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide says the nutrition label on a dietary supplement is called a “Supplement Facts” panel. It must list the names and quantities of the dietary ingredients in the product and the serving size. It must also list servings per container, except when that number is the same as the net quantity statement (for example, 100 tablets with a serving size of one tablet). A few details matter when you are trying to pin down amounts:
- Serving size. The guide defines one serving as the maximum amount recommended on the label per eating occasion. If the directions say to take 1 to 3 tablets with breakfast, the serving size would be 3 tablets. Amounts in the panel are per serving, so check how many capsules or tablets that is.
- Ingredients without a Daily Value. The guide calls these “other dietary ingredients.” They are listed by common or usual name, with a symbol pointing to a footnote reading “Daily Value Not Established.”
- Plant part. The guide says the Supplement Facts panel must include the part of the plant a dietary ingredient is derived from, such as root or leaf.
- Source. The guide says the panel may also list the source of a dietary ingredient.
The guide also notes that label approval is not required to import or distribute a dietary supplement in the United States.
How to Spot a Proprietary Blend
According to the guide, a blend is identified by the term “Proprietary Blend” or by an appropriately descriptive term or fanciful name. So the heading may not say “proprietary” at all. Look for a pattern instead:
- One line with a name and one combined weight (for example, a name followed by a single milligram figure).
- Several ingredient names indented underneath that line.
- No separate milligram amount beside each of those indented names.
- A “Daily Value Not Established” symbol after the indented ingredients.
The guide says the indented ingredients should appear in descending order of predominance by weight. It also says ingredients that have established Daily Values must be listed separately, with their individual weights declared. If a vitamin or mineral with a Daily Value appears inside a blend with no amount of its own, that is a good question for the manufacturer.
What a Blend Line Does and Does Not Tell You
What you can conclude
- Which ingredients are in the blend.
- The order of the ingredients by weight: the first named is present in the largest amount, the last named in the smallest.
- An upper limit: no single ingredient in the blend can weigh more than the blend's total.
What you cannot conclude
- How much of any one ingredient you get per serving.
- How large the gaps between ingredients are. Two neighbors on the list could be nearly equal or far apart.
- Whether the amount matches the amount used in any study. This article does not evaluate research on any ingredient, and a label without individual amounts does not allow that comparison to be made.
For example, imagine a made-up label reading “Botanical Complex 600 mg” followed by six herb names. You could say the first herb is the heaviest, the last is the lightest, and none exceeds 600 mg. You could not say how the 600 mg is divided, and dividing it evenly would be a guess, not a reading of the label.
Extra Detail for Botanical Extracts
Botanical labels can add another layer of uncertainty, because the number on the label may describe an extract rather than the plant itself. FDA's guide says:
- For a dried extract (one with the solvent removed), the label lists the weight of the dried extract.
- For a liquid extract, the label lists the volume or weight of the total extract and the condition of the starting material before extraction when it was fresh. The manufacturer may also show the concentration and solvent, and must identify the solvent either in the panel or in the ingredient list.
- A manufacturer may list constituents of a dietary ingredient, indented under it with their amounts. This is optional.
In practice, an extract weight tells you how much extract is in a serving. Unless the label chooses to give a concentration or a constituent amount, it does not by itself tell you how much raw plant went into it or how much of any single compound it contains.
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) publishes Herbs at a Glance, a series of brief fact sheets on specific herbs and botanicals. According to NCCIH, each covers common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information. The series covers a limited list of herbs, so a botanical you are researching may not appear on it.
Proprietary-Blend Transparency Worksheet
Copy this into a note or print it. Fill in one worksheet per product, working from the actual package or a photo of it. The point is to write down what the label says, and to mark clearly what it does not say.
Part A: Label Capture
- Product name and brand: ______________________
- Where I read the label (bottle, box, website page) and the date: ______________________
- Serving size, exactly as written: ______________________
- Servings per container: ______________________
- Directions, exactly as written: ______________________
- Name of the blend, exactly as written: ______________________
- Total blend weight and unit: ______________________
- Ingredients in the order listed (1 through the last): ______________________
- For each ingredient, write “amount stated” or “amount not stated”: ______________________
- Plant part shown for each botanical (write “not stated” if missing): ______________________
- Extract noted for each botanical? (dried, liquid, or not stated): ______________________
- Any ingredient with a Daily Value that appears inside the blend? ______________________
- “Other ingredients” list, exactly as written: ______________________
- Manufacturer or distributor contact details printed on the label: ______________________
Part B: Read-the-Blend Checks
- Is there a single combined weight with no per-ingredient amounts? (Yes / No)
- Are the blend's ingredients indented beneath it? (Yes / No)
- Does the label give a plant part for every botanical? (Yes / No)
- Does the label say whether any botanical is an extract? (Yes / No)
- Is any listed amount an extract weight rather than raw plant weight? (Yes / No / Not stated)
- Does the label state concentrations or constituent amounts anywhere? (Yes / No)
- Is anything on the panel unclear to me? (Write it down for Part C.)
Part C: Questions for the Manufacturer
Use the contact details printed on the package. Write the date you asked and record the reply in the company's own words.
- Can you tell me the amount of each ingredient in the blend, per serving?
- For each botanical, which species and which plant part is used?
- For each extract, is the amount listed the weight of the extract or of the plant material? Is it a dried or a liquid extract?
- If a concentration or ratio applies, what is it, and what solvent was used?
- Is any ingredient that has a Daily Value included in the blend rather than listed on its own line?
- Has an outside laboratory tested this product, and can you share the results?
Part D: Record the Answer
- Date of my question and how I asked (email, phone, web form): ______________________
- Reply received (yes / no) and the wording used: ______________________
- Items the company declined to share (write “declined” or “no reply”): ______________________
“Declined” and “no reply” are useful entries. They document what remains unknown, and you can bring the completed worksheet and the product to a pharmacist or clinician.
Limits of This Guide
- The FDA guide is dated. The version we used is labeled April 2005 and states that it contains nonbinding recommendations and that new regulations may be published after it. Requirements are compiled in Title 21, Part 101 of the Code of Federal Regulations, so check current rules if precision matters.
- A label is not a test result. This guide explains how to read a label. It cannot tell you whether a specific product contains what the label says.
- Amounts do not equal safety or benefit. Knowing an ingredient's amount does not tell you whether a supplement is safe or useful for you.
- Coverage is limited. We did not review labeling rules that apply only to particular ingredients, such as required warning statements, or rules for specific products.
- Not for urgent concerns. This article does not address symptoms or emergencies. For an urgent health concern, contact a healthcare provider or emergency services.
Who Should Talk to a Professional First
This site's Research Standards page notes that speaking with a qualified healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or changing any supplement is especially important for people managing chronic conditions or taking prescription medications. NCCIH also says taking supplements and medications together may increase or decrease a medication's effects or interact with it in harmful ways, which is why it advises talking with your health care providers about all the supplements and medications you take. See NCCIH's guide, How Medications and Supplements Can Interact.
If a blend hides the amount of an ingredient that matters to your situation, tell your pharmacist or clinician that the amount is undisclosed and bring the package and your completed worksheet.
What You Can Do Next
- Photograph the Supplement Facts panel and complete Part A of the worksheet.
- Work through Part B to see exactly what the label discloses and what it does not.
- Contact the manufacturer with the Part C questions and log the response in Part D.
- Check whether an unfamiliar botanical has a fact sheet in NCCIH's Herbs at a Glance, and read its common names and cautions if it does.
- Review your medicines and supplements with a pharmacist or clinician before you begin anything new.
You can use this process whether or not you ever buy the product. Deciding not to buy because the label leaves too much unstated is a valid outcome. For more on how this publication approaches label transparency, see the Research Standards and Disclosures page, or browse the Supplement Reviews section.
Sources
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide (April 2005; nonbinding recommendations). Used for the introduction's statement on label approval.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling. Used for Supplement Facts contents, serving size, plant part, source, Daily Value Not Established, extracts, constituents, and proprietary blends (questions 2 through 4, 9, 28 through 34).
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, Herbs at a Glance. Used for the description of the herb fact-sheet series.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, How Medications and Supplements Can Interact. Used for the statement on supplement-medication interactions and talking with health care providers.
- SterlingMedicalCenter.org, Research Standards and Disclosures. Used for this site's guidance on speaking with a qualified healthcare provider.
About This Publication
SterlingMedicalCenter.org is an independent editorial publication and is not a medical practice, clinic, or healthcare provider. The “Medical Center” in the domain name reflects prior ownership history only. See the site's Non-Affiliation Notice and Medical Disclaimer. Nothing here is medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.